Bleak Midwinter

I’m currently reading In the Bleak Midwinter by Julia Spencer-Fleming, a pretty local author.  It’s the first in a series of mysteries, and I don’t usually read mysteries.  I love this book!  I started it yesterday evening, and I’m almost done.  I checked out the second book in the series, so I can prolong my experience.  This book has been recommended to me by a handful of people, and every time someone described the plot to me, it didn’t sound like something I’d like.  So I’m not going to describe the plot here at all.  Also, the title sounds a bit…bleak.

We’ve all be challenged at the library to read outside of our usual comfort zone.  I had a hard time describing what I usually read, and finally settled on a term that is probably accurate but sounds pretentious – literary fiction.  My favorite authors are all described in Novelist or Wikipedia as literary fiction, so I just went with it.   A quick story about what I like to read – a woman asked me for a book recommendation the other day.  She wanted something light and fun to take on vacation, and it had been awhile since she’d read anything, so she wanted something good.  I wavered, and since I didn’t have any other authors to go on, I was thinking about what is popular here, and what might be good, and drawing a blank.  She asked me what I like to read, and whether I’d read any great books lately.  I had to admit that what I like to read is generally the opposite of light and fun.  I like dark or challenging books that make me think differently.  I like books to push me a little, and make me see things from a different perspective.  If I want something light, or something distracting, I watch a movie or knit.  I’m too slow of a reader for light reading.  Having said that, some of my favorite books that I’ve read recently have been light – Twilight comes to mind.  So I had to call on someone else to help her find a book, and I felt like a bad librarian.  To my credit, she was in an awful hurry and didn’t want to wait for me to cough up some decent light authors, but all the same, if I can’t recommend good books to people, I’m not doing my job.  So when I decided to read In the Bleak Midwinter, it was for two reasons – it’s our library book group selection for February, and it falls outside the genre I usually read, so it counts for our work challenge.  And it’s opened my eyes to a new genre, which is awesome.  Hopefully, the more excursions I make from my genre, the better I will be at matching books to people.

In other news, Jim and I were watching Futurama last night.  I love that show.  The opening sequences are just so funny.  As are the rest of the episodes.

2 Comments

  1. Why am I just discovering your wonderful blog? That lapse has been fixed now that I’ve added you to my RSS feed 🙂 Would you mind if I linked to your blog from my own?

    Hope all’s well up North!

  2. I love Twilight! I too tend towards darker/heavier novels, but then I get burnt out and I just don’t read at all for awhile. Then I feel guilty about the big stack of books that I haven’t read yet. Then I buy more books because I think of other books that I want to read MORE than the books I already have. That’s the phase I’m in right now, I just bought FOUR new books today. I’m going to try to blog about my reading adventures too!

Leave a Reply

