A Mystery

People have lots of different reactions to stress.  When I’m stressed, I generally check out socially.  I don’t pick up the phone, I don’t write emails or letters, and apparently I don’t blog.  Don’t ask me what I’ve been stressed about – I haven’t been able to pin it down.

I have been reading, and I read ALL 6 of Julia Spencer-Fleming’s books within a month.  I really enjoyed reading all of them!  It was kind of like watching an entire run of TV on DVD – I didn’t have time to forget details, and I got the whole story at once.  Only problem – it would be hard to review any one book now because the stories all run together.  I have to say All Mortal Flesh was my favorite, and A Fountain Filled With Blood my least favorite.  Will I read another if she puts it out?  I’m not sure – I Shall Not Want, the most recent book, has a pretty happy ending.  I’m not so into happy endings, and I don’t know if I want to keep reading if the main characters have a regular relationship.  Our book group was actually going to have J S-F visit and speak about her books, but it was postponed due to widespread power outages, then cancelled due to snow.  I had a question to throw out for discussion: Why do most people not consider mysteries to be literary?  The genre seems to be written off by many, as in “I liked the book but I’m not going to call it good literature,” or “I want something light…how about a mystery?”  I’m not saying all mysteries are well-crafted works that will live on in history, but I would say these mysteries were at least as well-written as much of the new fiction we have on our shelves at the library.  Hopefully, we will be able to have Julia speak at the library at some point, because I would LOVE to meet her.

In beer news, Novare Res is celebrating strong beers right now.  Jim and I met Robin and Jeff there last night, and the selection right now is truly wonderful.  The only problem is that we no longer live within walking distance, so we have to exercise restraint and caution in our consumption.  We are solving this problem by going more often!  We should be camped out Sunday afternoon, should anyone want to join us.

I have also been knitting like crazy.  I just finished a HUGE shawl that I started in August of 2007.  Or was it 2006?  The yarn is a nice rustic one-ply I purchased in Canada from Cottage Craft Fine Woolens, and it made a wonderful springy Feather and Fan Triangle Shawl (Ravelry Link).  I’ll block it tomorrow (hopefully) and take some photos.  I was inspired to pick it back up by a similar shawl being worked on over at Mason-Dixon Knitting, and an urge to finish some languishing projects.  I’d like to finish a few things before starting a number of new projects that I picked up yarn or patterns for at SPA a few weeks ago.  We’ll see how long that pragmatic side of me lasts.

Leave a Reply

