Hunkering Down

Snow falling on...eastern white pine.

Snow beginning to fall - can you see it?

We are in the midst of a winter storm, although it seems not to be the snowpocalypse that was predicted – just swirling snow and howling winds.  I spent the morning preparing for a potential power outage anyhow – I baked fresh bread, made a big pot of stew, washed all our laundry, and cleaned up the house.  Now I’ve got nothing left to do but craft and read.  Jim spent the better part of the afternoon helping our neighbor fix our snowblower, and I’m so glad we will have the luxury of not shoveling our driveway tomorrow.  I have a feeling it was good for him to learn how to fix a small engine, and it was nice to have the house to myself.  My goal was not to leave the house, and while I did end up making two excursions off our property, I also spent the majority of the day in domestic pursuits.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

