Reading and knitting, and the dangers thereof

The weather is turning chilly – sunny, warmish days and cold nights make for my favorite time of year – and naturally my urge to read increases along with my urge to drink hot beverages and curl up under blankets.  I’m not sure that I actually read more in the fall and winter, but I certainly crave book time more.  I’m not a prodigious reader, but I do alright considering that I work full time and have two children under 3.  I aim for a book a week these days, but I’ve only made it through 34 books this year, which is four behind schedule for those of you keeping track at home.

Right now, I’m reading Inferno by Dan Brown.  I usually love Dan Brown’s books, because they are fast-paced, I learn some new things, and they have interesting locations.  I read The Lost Symbol before a recent trip to Washington, and it was a nice and readable intro to the city.  However, and I’m sure you could tell there was a but coming, I’m not loving Inferno yet.  I find the amnesia device to be off-putting.  I love the crazy connections Langdon makes between events and sources and symbols, and the amnesia is robbing the book of that completely fun intellect.  So, I’m about halfway through, and I am going to finish it (and enjoy it – I’ve read worse for sure), but I don’t see myself enjoying this one as much as previous Dan Brown books.

The chilly weather is also bringing on a strong urge to knit.  I’ve been looking through stacks of knitting books lately – every time I head to the library there is a small stack on the reserve shelf waiting for me.  Lucky for me, one of the librarians has caught on to me and diverted a new book to my reserve pile for me the other day!  I’m working on a handful of new projects, and I’m sure I’ll be able to take some good photos any day now.

In other news, I’ve been selected for jury duty, and report at the end of the month for the selection process.  This will be my first time at the courthouse in any capacity, and I’ve heard jurors gain a great understanding of the judicial system.  My first thought when I got the letter was excitement that I might be able to get a head start on Christmas knitting, but when I flipped it over for the instructions, I found that knitting needles are specifically disallowed because of their potential to be used as weapons.  How interesting that you can bring knitting on an airplane, but not to the courthouse waiting room.  I will have to use knowledge as my weapon, and pack a book.  It might be a good time to read Dante’s Inferno 🙂

Leave a Reply

