The Battle for a Good Night’s Sleep

We are struggling with our kids sleeping.  Greta falls asleep easily most nights without fanfare – no bottle in her hand, no backrubbing or bouncing or parental presence necessary.  It’s a beautiful thing, and by the book.  However, she doesn’t fall back to sleep easily on her own when she wakes in the night, and once she is awake, we all are awake.  That sweet girl has a pair of lungs!!  I’ve received some very good advice to follow, and we’re working through the advice until we find something that works.

It’s tricky to ask for advice because all kids and parents are so different, but for some reason I love to keep asking, and I have gotten some really good gems mixed in with all the judgement.  Some kids just seem to sleep (or behave, or whatever I’m asking about) well, and when I talk to those parents I can see the look in their eye – the “thank goodness I’m a better parent than you” look – as they tell me their kid slept through the night at 2 days or have never so much as had a naughty twinkle in their eye.  Emmett was not in a hurry to sleep through the night, and it wasn’t until I had Greta that I realized that some kids actually don’t cry for 3 hours straight in the middle of the night every night.  So we haven’t hit rock bottom yet!  At any rate, I’m hopeful that our sleepless nights are numbered, and that we’ll get some rest soon.  This parenting thing is tricky business, but at least my kids look beautiful in their pajamas.

168265_651992349987_770795952_n

Leave a Reply

