Upcoming Reading List

I feel like I take as much pleasure in the anticipation of reading as I do in the finishing of books – which is a good thing because I start more books than I finish, and I bring home more books than I start.  I bring home an awful lot of books.

I’m still reading Inferno, and still feeling more or less the same about it.  However, I’m almost done, and I have some contenders for the sweet spot on my nightstand.

The frontrunner is a fairly new book by a fairly young author: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.  I read a really great review of the book at some point in the last two months, and promptly misplaced the review.  I don’t want to read too much else about it for fear of changing my mind about reading it, so I think I’m going to just dive right in.  It’s outside of my usual genre, so I’m just going to go for it.

Because I can never be reading just one book (I try and keep it to under 5 – but I’m not big on rules, and I break that one all the time), and I like to simultaneously read both fiction and nonfiction, I just picked up Religion for Atheists: A Non-believer’s Guide to the Uses of Religion by Alain de Botton.  People whose taste I admire love Alain de Botton, and I confess to having checked out more books of his than I’ve finished.  The bigger life questions have been at the forefront of my mind these last few months, so this title jumped out at me this morning and I’m going to give it a try.  I don’t read enough essays (unless you count humorous or parenting essays, which seem to be all I read lately).  So, this is my educational/intellectual reading for the month.

I’m also bringing home This I Believe: On Motherhood.  I am working up to gathering my thoughts on being a mother.  It is my favorite thing that I’ve done with my life, a huge challenge, and something that I rarely feel up to.  I love reading about parenting, and mothering, and all the paradoxes that we all feel, but which are very hard to talk about.  It is lovely to read sentiments which I feel but bungle when I try to express them.

What are you reading?  What should I add to my list?

Leave a Reply

